Bavarian Companies Pivotal in Bombardier Aircrafts Success

Bavarian Companies Pivotal in Bombardier Aircrafts Success

One the most advanced and environment-friendly aircrafts in modern history was developed by the Quebec-based giant Bombardier: The C-Series – since 2017 property of Airbus and known as the A-220 – has been regarded in the industry as a milestone in terms of noise management, fuel consumption and passenger comfort.

To achieve this R&D and engineering success, and to transform it into reality, Bombardier and subsequently Airbus were able to count on the decades-spanning know-how and expertise of two Bavarian companies: since 2011, IABG, on the one hand, have been managing the fatigue testing of the A-220 – with focus on material mechanical load resistance within the fuselage’s metal structures – an essential component of the plane’s official certification. Liebherr Aerospace, on the other hand, supply the plane’s landing gears, which they assemble and test at their Laval facility in Quebec, being responsible for expanded logistics of that part as well.

The development of the Global 7500 and Global 8000, Bombardier’s new generation of bireactor business jets, also has a Bavarian facet. Liebherr Aerospace was appointed in 2011 to take care of the air management systems, continuing a long-standing cooperation with the Canadian plane-manufacturer, as they had been selected in 1993 as a supplier for Bombardier’s Global Express aircraft. Apparatebau Gauting was to manage the water and wastewater systems, which they have made to one of their specialties over the years, for small and large, passenger and freight aircrafts.

When announcing their choice, Bombardier highlighted that they were looking for “high quality suppliers (…) to ensure the flexibility needed to incorporate future innovations”.

Des compagnies bavaroises au cœur du succès d’avions canadiens

Des compagnies bavaroises au cœur du succès d’avions canadiens

L’un des avions les plus technologiquement avancés et les moins polluants de l’histoire de l’aviation moderne a été développé par le géant québécois Bombardier : la C-Series – propriété, depuis 2017, de Airbus et connue désormais sous le nom A-220 – est reconnue dans l’industrie comme un point tournant en termes de contrôle du bruit, consommation de carburant et confort passager.

Pour arriver à ce succès d’ingénierie et de recherche, Bombardier puis Airbus ont pu compter sur l’expertise et le savoir-faire accumulés sur des décennies de plusieurs entreprises bavaroises. Depuis 2011, IABG d’une part gère les tests de résistance matériaux du A-220 dans une de leurs installations allemandes – en mettant l’emphase sur la résistance mécanique des structures métalliques du fuselage – une composante essentielle de la certification officielle de l’appareil. D’autre part, Liebherr Aerospace fournit les trains d’atterrissage de l’aéronef, qui sont assemblés et testés à leur usine de Laval (Québec) ; à noter qu’ils sont également responsables de la logistique étendue de toute cette partie de la fabrication.

Parallèlement, le développement du Global 7000 et Global 8000, la nouvelle génération d’avions privés bi-réacteurs, présente également une facette bavaroise : Liebherr Aerospace a été nommé en 2011 responsable des systèmes d’échange d’air, continuant ainsi une longue tradition de collaboration entamée en 1993 en tant que fournisseur pour le Global Express à l’époque. Apparatebau Gauting, de leur côté, se chargent des systèmes d’eau et de gestion des eaux usées, une expertise qu’ils ont bâtie au fil des décennies pour des avions petits et grands, de passagers et de marchandises.

Lors de ses annonces publiques, Bombardier a insisté sur leur recherche de « fournisseurs de haute qualité (…) afin d’assurer la flexibilité nécessaire à l’incorporation d’innovations dans le futur. »